Thoughts on PSLE by a student

22 Feb



One night in January this year,  as I was getting out of the centre, I saw Darell sitting on the bench, waiting for his parent to pick him up after his SMO(J) class. I sat down and had a chat with him. We talked about different things.

I was a little surprised when he told me he actually went through a bit of a stressful time preparing for PSLE. To me, Darell was always attentive, eager to work and try new challenges in my PSLE Math class last year. I asked him how he overcame the stress and managed to do well and he gave some insightful answers. I said to him, it will help the current P6 pupils if he can write down his experience. He smiled, maybe, he said.

A few weeks later, I was surprised again when he came and gave me a note that he had hand-written about his thoughts on PSLE.

Thank you for sharing, Darell.

You can read it here:

I am Darell Chua. I came from Loyang Primary School and now I am in NUS High School of Math and Science.

I took PSLE last year which is 2011. The thought of PSLE was very scary to me then, so I chose to do DSA. Going into a school via DSA does not mean you are inferior. You are just scared and so are others. I learnt how to overcome that fear by working harder. If you don’t like something, change it, if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.

There are some people I should thank too. I should thank my teachers, all my teachers. I have to emphasize on not being afraid to make mistakes. You may get it wrong once, but we have to try again and not give up. I used to be a person of average math scores in school. After going to Math Arena, my score shot up high! I know others will too.

A tip to do well is to do what you are comfortable with. Do not use model just because your teacher says it is good. Relax, but not too much is what I did. Everything will be perfect one day if we just have confidence.

Actually, there was not much to worry about. PSLE is not too hard. Treat it like a normal exam. Never fret too much. All will be well. “There is plenty of room at the top – but no place to sit down.”

Leave a Reply

