Thank you for your encouragement

30 Apr

Over the years, I have parents calling us with nice words of appreciation.

Such words, make teaching a joy. Their  encouragement tells us that we are doing the right thing — doing this work.

Some have emailed me, but this is the first time I have a parent penned her thoughts in such detail. Thank You.

Although it smacks of self promotion, i hope the parent doesn’t mind and readers would find it alright. I have removed all names.

Here is the letter:

==============================================================

Dear Persis,

It is a fact that it takes a whole village to nurture a child and I could not agree more with that statement.

I am penning this e-mail simply for one reason — I am truly grateful and touched by all your effort and sincerity when teaching maths to X. The methods taught emphasizes on execution so as to cut down on mathematical carelessness and the excitement you bring to his plate when new strategic methods are introduce. Nothing makes me happier than to see X elated when empowered with the ability to apply those methods effortlessly and solve those problem sums. That has been a long time coming and was not the case always! I have seen many a frustration when he is unable to resolve a mathematical sum. This fact made more poignant as I recall the many disappointments that my husband and I discovered along the way with some of the tuition centers, as they make claim to promises of A-stars and unique mathematical strategies!

I happen to chanced upon ‘Maths Arena’ quite by chance in the internet. Even then, I was
skeptical, as you may understand why by now. A call placed to Doris in November 2010 changed all that as she convinced me of the quality of teaching done at ‘Maths Arena’. Looking back, I have her to thank, as she never quite gave up placing calls to me, to invite me down for a try! We did so in December last and the rest as they say, is history. I approached you a month ago with concerns about Maths PSLE and the final lap towards achieving X’s desired goal and mastery of the paper. Going in, I was not sure what the outcome of my concerns would be but you touched me with your earnesty and you took on my concerns and have since addressed them. I cannot begin to express my relief when that happened and my gratitude to you for making it personal. I am also aware that you prepare his lessons ahead of time and with each lesson, a lot more is covered. A word of commendation also, for taking on worksheets done from home and where there are mistakes, you ensure that his thought process are corrected. Two weeks back, X mentioned a thought that resounded what essentially made “The Difference”. He said that he found a “connection” with you that endeared him to you. What I believe he is saying is that of the “Heartware” which is often difficult to find between that of a tutor and a child. My husband and I are fortunate that X has found a tutor whom he looks up to and is motivated to do well.

He always looks forward to attending lessons with you as he enjoys the challenges and speed at which the lessons progress. Once again, Thank You, Persis for all your effort and dedication to X. Our appreciation.

Yours sincerely,
Mother Of X

====

And it is my joy to teach your child.

2 Responses to “Thank you for your encouragement”

  1. Julie Tew May 15, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Please recommend Persis to me

    • matharena May 15, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

      Thank you, Julie.
      I will reply to you by email.

      Regards,
      Persis

Leave a Reply

